Google+

Ermahgerd! Erherverblerg!

2

November 18, 2012 by athenahm

Oh, stop it, you. Just kidding, don’t stop.

I am Athena. This is my very first post, so I will just take a moment (or 10) to tell you a bit about me and this blog, and why I would want to start a blog about what goes on in the life and times of me and my kitchen, when there are so many other food blogs out there.  I look all over the internet, and I see all of these fabulous recipes for people like me who like to make most of their food from scratch, but in all of the people I meet on a regular basis in the real world, I feel like there are not so many of us.  I still think that I could make a contribution, you know?

For those of you who are unfamiliar with cool German words, “kaffeeklatsch” means to gather with friends for conversation and coffee. I love coffee, and if you ever see me without coffee, understand this: Houston, we have a problem.   I interpret you strange people who apparently share some interests of mine, as friends (just go with it).  So to me, this is coffeetime with my friends.  Kaffeeklatsch!

I am an Air Force spouse, and have followed my husband from Florida to Virginia, then to Southern Turkey, and our next destination is Maryland, back in the good old U.S. of A.  We have two children, a boy of 8, and a girl of 6, both diagnosed with ADHD.  As you will no doubt be able to tell from this site, they come by it honest-like.  I am highly educated, yet I typically do not use correct English, because Mark Twain did it, and, man, that guy was hilarious.  I have not been able to work, here, in Turkey, but I am getting a job, come hell or high water, once we reach U.S. soil…. Damnit.  I am a very socially conscious person, and although this is mostly a food blog, I am not above using my platform to raise awareness or ask for help for a worthy cause.  Some of the ones you will see here, frequently are LGBT rights and acceptance(I am bisexual, but happily taken.  Sorry ladies… Especially Hannah Hart.), Special Needs kids(outlined above), women’s equality in all things, among others.  In short, different does not mean bad.  Different means try harder to be friggin’ nice.  Duh.

My food philosophy is this: I am typically Paleo-ish leaning (no, really, I try to be good), but for holidays and special occasions, I don’t skimp on flavor for anything.  Some things are just too ingrained in my head.  This blog sees all kinds of recipes, including, but not limited to foods with fat and sugar contents that would make even Paula Deen wince, tweaked recipes from my favorite Paleo-nuts, and my own tried and true family favorites.   Not all recipes are mine, but I definitely give credit where it is due.  I am not so good at “sincere”, but will presently make an exception and say that I sincerely hope you are interested in what I have to say, and that I really hope to see you back.  Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Ermahgerd! Erherverblerg!

  1. iamtomnardone says:

    Hello Athena it looks like I have the honor of being the first comment on your site. I agree about not skimping. When my wife asks “would you like me to make spaghetti” iask her if she is going to saute garlic in olive oil. if she says no then i say dont bother

  2. athenahm says:

    Oh garlic. I could (and might) write an entire post devoted to it. Maybe after Thanksgiving 😉

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

