Google+

Thanksgiving Pre-Cooking Marathon, Day 1 , Part 2

2

November 19, 2012 by athenahm

Yesterday, I promised that I would give a more detailed account of the Thanksgiving preparations, mostly because it was 3:30 in the morning…. There were copious amounts of coffee involved in the making of this post. And, here it is.

First, here is a picture of the finished product for the Bourbon Vanilla Cranberry Sauce from last night.

Mmm. The canned stuff will never cross the threshold of my home again.

Then, of course, there was the Lemon Buttermilk Chess Pie. The link to the original recipe is here, courtesy of CHOW.com.  I pretty much followed that recipe to a T. It turned out sweet, and custardy, and fragrant. (!!!!)

I am horrible at making crust look pretty, but it tastes good, so I don’t actually care.

And then, I made the crispy sweet potato casserole. This is my own personal take on it, but it is fairly basic.

2 large-ish sweet potatoes

1 c brown sugar, divided in half

1 stick of butter, divided in half

1 c chopped pecans

I baked the sweet potatoes(seems like nobody takes huge helpings of this stuff, so I paired down the recipe from last year) during the day while I was taking care of other stuff (350 degrees for an hour). Multi-tasking! Yay!  When I was ready, I pureed the potatoes with half of the butter and half the brown sugar, using an immersion blender. I heart my immersion blender.  After that, I simply turned the mixture out into a tin-foil pan(there are enough dishes at holiday dinners without having to wash all of the pans, too!), mixed the pecans and remaining brown sugar together, and spread it evenly over the potatoes. Then cut up the last half of the butter into half-inch cubes, and place it all over the sugar and pecans. Now, you can do what I did, and cover, then put this in the fridge or freezer until you are ready to stick it in the oven, or you can pop it in directly. I just recently started watching the time on baking with the majority of my own recipes, so I will just tell you to bake at 350 until the pecans are crispy, and the sugar is crystallized.  Perfection.

Pre-bake. I will post the final product on Turkey Day.

Ok, so there is the rest of last night’s, and now I am going to begin working on today’s post 🙂  I promise that things will slow down after Thanksgiving, there is just so much to squeeze in right now!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Pre-Cooking Marathon, Day 1 , Part 2

  1. Mary says:

    Can you make the crispy sweet potato casserole with canned sweet potatoes?

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

