Google+

ThanksgivingPrep Marathon, Day 2: Rolls! Y U NO RISE????

1

November 19, 2012 by athenahm

Arise! Ariiiise!! ….Please?

*Sigh*

I am a little disappointed with my yeast rolls, right now. I tried a recipe from Martha, in the light of whose infinite wisdom, we are supposed to be able to pull off all manner of culinary feats on the first attempt, but I think I am broken. Or something. My rolls will not be baked until Thursday, and according to numerous comments on the recipe page, they should still rise when I bake them, but they are still just so… so… flat.  Flaccid, even.  I will document the results when I bake them, but they have been proofing for a good couple of hours and are still…. well, you know. Here’s the progression of how that went:

This was before the rolls didn’t rise and my dreams were still alive.

Obligatory coffee mug shot.

It was springy and so much more satisfying than play doh.

I think this is where it all went awry. I missed the part where it said let it rise for an hour before doing this part. Fingers crossed!

Ok, steeling myself and moving along, the other item I ticked off my list went considerably better. This one is also a family recipe that I adapted to my own tastes and purposes.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

*I accidentally omitted the ground mustard and plain bread crumbs from this picture*

Ingredients:

1 stick butter

1 large box macaroni (I prefer the rifled type from Barilla, but alas, our itty bitty commissary in Turkey only carried the tiny elbows, so I make due, for now)

6 c sharp cheddar shredded cheese

3 tbsp. wondra flour(pictured above)

2 c buttermilk

1 c 2% milk

1 tsp. ground mustard

I cannot tell you how many servings this makes, but just suffice to say, use your biggest pan. Yeah. In any case, Set your oven to 350, and put you noodles to boil. When they are done, drain and set aside.

This is a big recipe, so melt your entire stick of butter in a saucepan on low.

Whisk away any lumps THIS PART IS IMPORTANT because there is nothing worse than a surprise clump of ground mustard in your otherwise splendiferous mac and cheese. Ask me how I know.

After your butter is all melty, add in your ground mustard and Wondra flour. Heed the warning under the picture. Please. At this point, you should have a yellow creamy-looking substance. Now turn up the heat to medium, and add your buttermilk and regular milk, stirring all the while with the whisk. When it is just warm enough to steam a bit,  turn down to low, then add in 4 cups of your cheese, reserving the other two for topping, later. Stir until incorporated, and then, in the pot that you used for your noodles, mix them together with the cheese sauce, then transfer to your huge-ass baking pan.

Sidenote: While I was very gently stirring the cheese sauce, this happened.

Now, spread the rest of the cheese over the noodles:

I don’t know why, but this part made me feel a bit like the Swedish Chef.

Sprinkle some bread crumbs in a light dusting over the cheese and stick it in the oven until it’s golden brown:

The wait is TORTURE.

 

You mean we can’t eat it, now? Awwww.

Whew! All done for today, stay tuned for tomorrow’s line-up of green bean casserole(NOT from a can), pumpkin pie with pecan-walnut crust, onion gravy, sausage and apple stuffing, and apple caramel cake and trifle. Maybe. Most likely half of that will get pushed to Wednesday, but for now, I am ambitious! Woo!

One thought on “ThanksgivingPrep Marathon, Day 2: Rolls! Y U NO RISE????

  1. […] to when she dropped the potato pancake on the table whilst attempting to flip it in the pan(See Rolls! WHY U NO RISE???).  She looked directly into the camera and said, “You just scoop it back into the pan. […]

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

