Google+

I’m a jerk. Here’s a Pot Roast.

Leave a comment

December 2, 2012 by athenahm

I have to tell you guys, I had fully intended on doing a step-by-step with everything that got made and passed through my kitchen on Thanksgiving, but honestly, there was just too much going on(ZOMG TODDLERS!) for me to remember to do all of that. Suffice to say, it was all wonderful, except for the stupid rolls. They never did rise. Bastards. I sincerely apologize for not finishing the Thanksgiving stuff.  I am an asshole, at times…….

So, to try and make up for it, I give you my take on basic beef pot roast. I love dinners that you can stick in the oven around midday and pull out at dinner time ready to go, since we are kind of busy around dinner time, with exercise classes, homework, etc.  YAY for roasts and things! Some people may be a little intimidated by them, if they have never attempted one, but rest assured: it’s not nearly as hard as you might imagine it to be. Or time-consuming.  I swear, it took me no longer than 15 minutes to prep.  I AM cook, and so can YOU!

Image credit: Hannah Hart- My Drunk Kitchen

Basic Pot Roast

I prefer to cut up some yukon gold potatoes, celery, an onion, and carrots(this time I cheated and used frozen, pre-sliced carrots, it’s all good) for my vegetable components. You can use whatever your little heart desires. Be creative! Or don’t! Either way, it will turn out wonderful, because this is almost impossible to screw up.  Take your defrosted chunk of meat(Whatever cut you want. I came across a really good deal on a grass-fed chuck-roast, so that is what this is), and place it in the middle of a large roasting pan. Throw in all of the veggies, then toss it all in so olive oil.  I seasoned this one with garlic salt, thyme, and sage. It came out AH-mazing, but this is a place where you can play around, too, if you so desire. Go nuts. Er… spices. Whatever.  Before it goes in, it should look something like this:

Before....

Before….

Now is the best part. Cover it, stick it in the oven at 350 degrees, and walk away. Go do stuff. For hours.  I normally let mine go for about 4-5 hours, so it falls apart.  Anywho, when you take it out, it should appear somewhat similar to this, and I am so broken-hearted that I cannot convey the aroma via interwebs, because your whole damn house should smell magnificent.

You did the work for it so long ago, it feels like instant dinner!

You did the work for it so long ago, it feels like instant dinner!

So, I hope that was all you had hoped it would be. I am working on a stupid numbers of play-dough sugar cookies in various flavors, colors and for various purposes, so that will be coming up soon.  Signing off, for now. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

Learn Fun Facts

An Archive of Curious Facts for the Curious

Athena Holter-Mehren

Author & Artist

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

