Google+

Margarita Cupcakes( with BOOZE!)

9

December 11, 2012 by athenahm

Tequila-drenched baked goods. Mmmm Yes.

Tequila-drenched baked goods. Mmmm… Yes.

I decided to host a friend’s birthday party at my house, and wanted to do something special that she would really enjoy.  I thought really hard for a long time(not really, more like a minute or two), and then I remembered the three basic social glues that hold myself and most of my friends together. With all of the people that I care about, it is one of, or a combination of these three things that keeps them coming back for punishment. The Holy Trinity of friendship is coffee, alcohol, & a generally crass sense of humor.   In light of this realization,  I had her choose between 28 different kinds of alcoholic cupcakes from this fabulous compendium.  She told me that it was a toss-up between the margarita or the Kahlua ones, and since I have a surplus of tequila, it was decided.  The recipe on the list is

Obligatory coffee mug.

Obligatory coffee mug.

this one, which looks super pretty, but unfortunately, calls for a cake mix from the box. I don’t use box mixes, mostly, unless it’s a crisis situation, so I went on a search for cupcakes of a similar concept, and I found these!  I liked the batter from one, and the icing from the other, so the ones I made were kind of a rough mix of the two. Note: I halved the recipe, and only made 12.  Oh, and I had some of the caramel icing that was left over from the caramel apple cake I made for Thanksgiving, which was very similar in recipe to that first one.  Somehow, I had managed to mix up the amount I needed of powdered sugar with the amount of butter, and had way too much butter, so I had to make up for it by adding way too much powder sugar.  End result of that fiasco was that I had 4 times more icing than I needed, so I froze the rest. Good thing I was thinking ahead before I realized I needed to be thinking ahead.  Geez, I am 5 kinds of awesome.

So, if you do not have a shipload of buttercream made already, use the icing recipe from I am Baker.  If you happen to have some amazing caramel icing just, ya know, laying around, add a pinch of salt, some lemon extract, lime juice, and you are in business!  No one knew they were eating converted caramel icing. Mwuahahahahaha.  Either way, make sure your icing is room temperature. If it is too cold, it will be hard to pipe, and will look like a 4-year-old decorated your baked goods.  Ask me how I know.

As I said, I used the recipe from Confections of a Foodie Bride for the cupcake batter, with the exception of not having fresh limes, so no zest, and adding a teaspoon of lemon extract.  Also, I had no buttermilk, so I used whole milk, which turned out just fine.

Pro-tip, For cupcakes, I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup for portioning. Less thinking involved, which is good.  Thinking is hard.

Pro-tip: For cupcakes, I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup for portioning. Less thinking involved, which is good. Thinking is hard.

I baked them for about 25 minutes, then let them cool completely, which is a splendid idea, since you don’t want your buttercream melting on contact.  Now, the recipe says you brush the cupcakes with tequila. Yay!

Don't like tequila? Neither did any of the people that came to this party.  They surprised to find out that I can make anything taste good. (except dates, apparently)  My husband has yet to learn this.

Don’t like tequila? Neither did any of the people that came to this party. They were surprised to find out that I can make anything taste good. (except dates, apparently. Long story.)

So, I brushed the cupcakes, but apparently, the cupcakes were even bigger lushes than me, because they absorbed the tequila so fast that I swore I heard a “slurp” each time I brushed one.  The last one *might* have belched, but I cannot be sure. Anyway, I felt obligated to brush them again, since they were so, um, thirsty.  They practically made me do it.  That’s my story.

After the tequila, It’s time to ice your cupcakes.  I am not a bakery chef, so I do not know all that many technical terms for icing tips, bags, etc, but I used this tip for the icing:

It says 30 on it. That is all I can tell you.

It says 30 on it. That is all I can tell you.

I split my icing into two equal portions, and added 2 drops of green food coloring and 3 drops of yellow to one portion. Then I took the uncolored portion and put it in the pastry bag like so:

Flip the lip over your hand for easy filling.

Flip the lip over your hand for easy filling.

With a spatula, scoop it into your bag and pat it down to get rid of the excess air. Flatulence can kill the mood, including while decorating pastries.

With a spatula, scoop it into your bag and pat it down to get rid of the excess air. Flatulence can kill the mood, including whilst decorating pastries.

NO more than halfway. You will need to be able to play with the rest of the bag.

NO more than halfway. Otherwise, you get icing all over your hands. THEN, you have to lick it off.

Unfold it back to full length and bunch it closed at the top.

Unfold it back to full length and bunch it closed at the top.

Hold it pinched with one hand, and use the other to twist. This gives you control over how much goo comes out.

Hold it pinched with one hand, and use the other to twist. This gives you control over how much goo comes out.

This is always a good idea.

This is always a good idea.

Now, you are ready to frost.

Now, you are ready to frost. You don’t have to do the entire middle, because it will get covered by the green icing. Observe….

Just start at the outer edge and work your way inward in a circle. Even I can do it!

Just start at the outer edge and work your way inward in a circle. Even I can do it!

Sprinkle some gold sanding sugar over the top for pretties. Glitter makes people want to eat. I just made that up, but it sounds true.

Sprinkle some gold sanding sugar over the top for pretties. Glitter makes people want to eat. I just made that up, but it sounds true.

And that, my lovelies, is how you do alcohol + baking RIGHT.  I am done for tonight, but look forward to my homemade eggnog escapades, coming up soon. What is the one food item that you just can’t celebrate the holidays without?

9 thoughts on “Margarita Cupcakes( with BOOZE!)

  1. Paula Holter-Mehren says:

    “Thinking is hard”….Yes, it can be, especially after taste testing all that Tequila! Looks yummy! Kind of a Mexicalli take on Italian Tiramisu.

  2. 21stcenturyhousewife says:

    Your cupcakes look beautiful! I love the idea of a cocktail in a cupcake! Visiting via Bloggy Moms 🙂

  3. Those look and sound amaaaazing. Too bad I only have children to cook for! Maybe I’ll halve your recipe and my hubs and I can have a fun treat!

    Your blog is lovely and I can’t wait to read more fun recipes. Thanks to Bloggy Moms I’m a new follower!

    • athenahm says:

      Thanks so much! Yes, I am definitely enjoying being part of a blogging community. The great thing about these is that the tequila goes on after they are done baking, so you can pick and choose which ones have tequila on them 🙂 You and your husband have fun! Lol

  4. You’ve just inspired me to attempt cupcakes again!

  5. […] delicately. It is now ready for piping. For a step-by-step on piping the icing, check out my Margarita Cupcakes, because it is exactly the same method, just a different tip. This time I am using the tip with the […]

Leave a Reply

Learn Fun Facts

An Archive of Curious Facts for the Curious

Athena Holter-Mehren

Author & Artist

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

