Google+

Homemade Blitzed Eggnog(plus the unleaded version) Part 1

3

December 17, 2012 by athenahm

Image credit: robin-williams.net

Well, Helllllooooooo there!

For part 2, click HERE.

You might remember that a couple of weeks ago, I asked you what kind of boozy goodness you prefer in your eggnog.  Thanks to everyone that responded, and I am happy to report that you guys seem as torn as I was.  It was a 50/50 split for the most votes between spiced rum and bourbon whiskey.  Since I now had exactly the same quandary as I started out with, I said to myself, “What the hell, Athena.  Can’t we all just coexist?  I mean what kind of a world do we live in, that rum and whiskey cannot peacefully mix with eggs, sugar and cream, to get us twice as drunk in the same space of time?”  And then I answered myself(no judging), “You know what, Athena?  You are absolutely spot on with this one.  It’s happening.”  So thanks, everybody, for helping me work things out with myself. Sometimes, she’s kind of a bitch.

My extremely comfortable Turkish work pants, aka salvar, known by me as PJ’s. These were essential in the making of today’s cookies and eggnog.

So, doing what any ADHD cook does, I took to the Pinterest, and searched out the recipe outline that I kind of used last year, because otherwise, it would be lost in internet land.  I say kind of, because you guys know me, I almost never follow the directions to a T.  That would be boring, and then, what would the point be in telling you all about it? AmIright?

Note: On the recipe page there is a link to it, but in case you are wondering if uncooked eggnog is safe, check out this article with all of the science-y reasons as to why this is perfectly(probably) safe for adults, ’cause there is lots of wonderful alcohol in it. Moving along…

A vanilla bean infusing the booze. I added more booze after this, so if it doesn’t look like enough, do not fret.  We fixed it.

Blitzed Eggnog (adapted from CHOW.com)

Makes about 2 quarts. You’ll need:

3 cups bourbon(I used Evan Williams)

3 cups spiced rum(I used Capt. Morgan)

2 cups sugar

12 eggs, separated

1 cup heavy cream

4 cups 2% milk(I like mine a little thinner)

1 whole vanilla bean

2 tbsp ground nutmeg

I am an uncomplicated person, and I like my food and drink to be the same. I like to make foods with as few flavors as possible, but those few flavors will taste amazing together.  This eggnog took me all of 10 minutes to make. The pasteurized version for preggos, DD’s and tiny people takes a wee bit longer, but you have to cook it slightly, so, there you have it.

First, take your alcohol, and pour it into the very clean pitcher you are planning on using to house your eggnog.  Chuck that vanilla bean in with it, and let those ingredients become acquainted while you do the other stuff.  Infusion is your friend.

While that’s sitting, you’ll take your yolks and in a medium bowl, whisk those together with your sugar, until it’s a golden yellow goo.  Add your nutmeg, cream, and milk, make sure those are well incorporated, and then pour it in with your alcohol in the pitcher. Give it a stir, and stick it in your fridge until Christmas. Voila!

If you do not want to get drunk, or if you will be in mixed company, omit the alcohol, and heat the mixture to 160 degrees fahrenheit on a stovetop, stirring continuously. Let cool, then refrigerate as prescribed.

Now there is a second part to this, and we will go over it on serving day, but just a heads up, you are going to need these things for serving, my friends:

12 reserved egg whites(freeze these in an airtight container til that day, then you can defrost them and use)

1 1/2 cups cold heavy cream

ground nutmeg for serving

Go team, go!

Go team, go!

A card that Thing 1 drew for me. He's cute. We'll keep him.

A card that Thing 1 drew for me. He’s cute. We’ll keep him.

Thanks for checking in. I mean, Yay! you didn’t run away screaming, right?  Baby steps. Make sure to let me know what you think in the comments down below, and to follow me on FB and Twitter for extras, thoughts and pictures from Kaffeeklatsch.  Next up, we’ve got Mocha Mint cookies, and then next week, we will finish up the eggnog. Love you guys!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Blitzed Eggnog(plus the unleaded version) Part 1

  1. […] will have more  for you all soon, including Part 2 to the Eggnog Saga. Enjoy this time with your loved ones, and have an amazing weekend full of memory […]

  2. […] to mention the eggnog, bacon-wrapped water-chestnuts, jalapeno poppers, and countless other wonderful concoctions, of […]

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

