Google+

Hotel Living Series, Episode 2: Breakfast Waffle Casserole

5

January 28, 2013 by athenahm

Sorry this post is a bit late, I have been working on a clandestine project with feverish intensity.  I would say it won’t happen again, but we all know that is malarkey.

I have had a few requests for this particular recipe.  Mostly because it is amazing.

Breakfast Waffle Casserole

 I have tried it with others, and Krusteaz is the only brand that I have found the results I personally like, but if you have a favorite mix or waffle recipe, you go on with your bad self.  And post it below.  I want to know how it went for you guys and if you had good results with something different, particularly a more paleo-friendly waffle mix, so that I could make this more often!  I’m having carb issues…….  Remember how flexible we are, guys?  If you want to try this with pancake or biscuit mix, that would absolutely work as well.  It all depends on how you like it, and what you feel like.  Just make sure you follow package/recipe instructions.

Breakfast Waffle Casserole

Preheat oven to 350˚ F.  Makes about 16 servings.

Ingredients:

1 box Krusteaz waffle mix

1 package natural ground breakfast sausage

1 package nitrate-free bacon

12 eggs, beaten (*Note – I have some leftover egg whites from the lemon curd a while   back, so I used about 5 whites and 8 whole eggs, it turned out great.)

2/3 cup canola/vegetable oil

One 16 oz. package cheddar cheese, shredded

Fry bacon and sausage.  I cut my bacon into 1-inch strips and fry it together with the sausage crumbles.  Brilliant, right?  I have found that the degree of crispiness when it comes to bacon is an extremely personal issue, so I will not instruct you, but I will say that I personally dislike limp bacon, so I fried it to limp, and it came out perfect after the baking.  Reserve the grease from the meat.  In a large bowl, make the waffle mix according to package instructions.  It calls for 2/3 cup oil and 4 of the eggs if you are using Krusteaz. If not, follow the directions.  Make the entire box.  In a large (16-inch works best) glass or ceramic baking dish, first, coat the bottom and sides with the grease.  Spread the bacon and sausage crumbles evenly over the bottom of the pan, reserving about a handful of meat for later.  Next, pour the roughly other 8 eggs over the meat.  Spread the shredded cheese over the eggs.   I used the entire bag, but you can use less if you don’t like it as cheesy.   Now, pour the waffle batter evenly over the entire pan. Careful not to fill it too full, be aware, the batter fluffs up a bit. I would say leave at least a 1/2 inch of room in your pan.  And really, would it be soooo hard to find something to do with extra waffle batter?  You guys have imaginations.  Use them.  Sprinkle that last bit of crumbled meat over the top. Bake uncovered for about 20-45 minutes, depending on your oven(remember, I am stuck with the angry dinosaur).  The surface of the casserole should be slightly crusty and should be cracked in the middle.  Your eggs should be thoroughly cooked, kids.

Here is a step-by-step photo gallery for those of you that don’t like chapter books….

Thanks again for tuning in.  Keep checking back because I have a Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Bar post in the works right meow.  Also, let me remind you that you should fulfill your good deed quota by donating money to help my Crazy Friend Ashley raise money for the Special Olympics.

5 thoughts on “Hotel Living Series, Episode 2: Breakfast Waffle Casserole

  1. Mary says:

    Going to have to try this. I will be searching for the waffle mix. We have only made waffle from scratch, never bought it. My cousin makes breakfast casserole on the grill at the lake, but I can never duplicate hers. I will have to give yours a try! Can you make it a head of time and refrigerate overnight?

    • athenahm says:

      This is a great make ahead meal. It freezes well, too. I find that I don’t even need to heat mine up in the morning as leftovers after it has been in the fridge overnight! Personal preference, of course.

  2. jumbonews says:

    Good Allah woman, don’t you know you’re in an Islamic country. Pork sausage and bacon? Come home soon!!!

    W7PHM

    • athenahm says:

      Yes I do! Trust me, I am ready! A month to go, exactly, today, if all goes as planned. The benefit of being on base is shopping at the commissary, where there are plentiful pork products 🙂 Thankfully, Turkey is not nearly as devout as the rest of the Muslim world, by comparison.

  3. fit2beme3 says:

    I need to try this sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

