Google+

Hotel Living Series, Episode 3: Stephanie’s Peanut Butter Bars a la Athena(Now Gluten-Free!)

3

February 10, 2013 by athenahm

(Surprised expletive)! Has it really been two weeks since my last post?  Keep reading, you will figure out why.  I made these last week.  Last week we were still living in a hotel.  This week, we have moved back into a house, but only for about a month.  Long story, will elaborate in my next post, Gluten-Free Coconut Custard Bars.  For now, we will talk about these ridiculously awesome PB bars.  I was originally gifted with the recipe for these from my dear, dear friend Stephanie.  Hence the name.  I changed the recipe the first time I made them a little bit( since I didn’t have powdered sugar, I subbed brown sugar) , and then, I had to make something for my kid’s class snack day, and there is a gluten-sensitive kid in his class, so I figured it would be the perfect time to experiment with some of my favorite recipes.  Here is the recipe I normally use:

Original Peanut butter Bars

1 cup peanut butter( I like creamy, but it’s your bbq)

This is what the whole batch looked like.  These were made last minute for a party, so no gorgeous pics of these, but you get the idea.

This is what the whole batch looked like. These were made last minute for a party, so no gorgeous pics of these, but you get the idea.

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 box of graham crackers(1 of the 3 plastic bags found inside)

1 stick of butter

8 oz. semi sweet chocolate(I find it’s easier to buy the bag of chunks, less work, and they melt faster)

Melt the butter, mix it with the PB and sugar, and crush up the graham crackers, leaving many of them in semi-large chunks.  The chunks add to the texture and flavor.  Don’t use the pre-crumbled stuff for best results.  Then you spread it in a pan and melt the chocolate in a double boiler, pour it on top, spread it around and stick it in the freezer to set for 10 minutes, and you’re good! So easy, right?

 There are lots of ways that you could  vary this recipe to make it healthier, vegan, all natural, etc. etc., for instance replace the sugar with maple syrup or honey, coconut oil for butter, and make some almond flour graham crackers yourself, to make it paleo. Or you could use the ingredients pictured below to make them gluten free with less simple carbs.  The variations are endless, and I guess the whole point of this post is to show you how to be adaptable with recipes you find on the internet.  Because you never know what the military, *I mean* life is going to throw at you, or when you might be compelled to make Peanut Butter Bars with 30 minutes notice.  I digress.

Ingredients at a glance.

Ingredients at a glance.

Anyways, here a step-by step for you to the gluten-free variation of this basic recipe. I used Glutino crackers instead of graham crackers.  No, Glutinos aren’t sweet.  Did anybody notice?  Not a bit.  They still tasted like magic, because don’t forget, there is sugar in the chocolate as well as the brown sugar added in.  Remember, too, that when you are adapting a recipe for your own purposes, it’s important not to get too attached to a particular form of food-styling.  There has to be 50 different ways to make your food look appetizing that you haven’t thought of yet.  Don’t be afraid to change it up.

Programming Notes:  Next time, we will talk more in-depth about Gluten-Free coconut custard, military bureaucracy, and making awesome food when you are cooking outside your comfort zone.  As in, not in your kitchen or with your cooking implements, or barely any implements.  You know what? We can do it, because we kick ass.  AND because we have food ADD and may starve if we are forced to eat the same thing over and over.  Next post coming way sooner  than last time, to make up for being gone so long.  Love you guys!

Also!(thought I was done, didn’t you? Ha! Never!):  If you follow me on Facebook(more regular content, contests, rants, and other fun stuff), then you should check out this great post by I like beer and babies.  She shows you step-by-step with pic tutorials(I know you all like pictures) how to make sure you are getting all of the content you subscribed to when you click the “like” button on your favorite pages(hint hint, nudge nudge *ahem*).

3 thoughts on “Hotel Living Series, Episode 3: Stephanie’s Peanut Butter Bars a la Athena(Now Gluten-Free!)

  1. B Gourley says:

    Looks tasty. You can really do this in a hotel? I assume extended-stay residence sort of thing?

  2. […] Force??  Yeah! That’s right! I threw a meme at you! In other news, I had so much fun making Gluten Free Peanut Butter Bars, that I decided to […]

Leave a Reply

Learn Fun Facts

An Archive of Curious Facts for the Curious

Athena Holter-Mehren

Author & Artist

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

