Google+

Gluten-Free Coconut Custard Bars & Athena’s Guide to Being Resourceful When the Military Turns You Upside-down

3

February 18, 2013 by athenahm

Click on the image to go to my OTHER blog, where I talk a little bit more about stuff that matters to me on The Not-So-Standard Issue Spouse.

Hey guys!  So! You might remember that we were in the middle of our super-fun Hotel-Living Series?  Well, the military, in its infinite wisdom, has decided to put us back into a house.  For 3 weeks.  What does this mean?  It means that 1) All of my kitchen stuff is on its way to Maryland and/or is there, already.  2) The Hotel Living Series has now morphed into Athena’s Guide to Being Resourceful until we get to Maryland. 3) I had to get MORE creative than I already was, because while I am infinitely grateful for the set of kitchen stuff they give you when you have no stuff and you are waiting to get on a plane, it is woefully wanting of the necessities to actually make decent food.  4) I have another goddamn housing inspection to go through. You know what I say to that, Air Force??  Yeah! That’s right! I threw a meme at you! In other news, I had so much fun making Gluten Free Peanut Butter Bars, that I decided to continue

This is the rest of the recipe. No other instructions necessary.

on that path with another GF friendly recipe.  I made some Coconut Custard Bars that are ridiculously easy, and since they are made with coconut flour short bread(fiber, protein, vitamins) instead of white flour(makes your ass grow like magic!) I can even label them as a healthy alternative.  I am feeling rather smug about this, I must say.  Did I mention they were easy?

 

 

 

Gluten Free Coconut Custard Bars

Preheat to 400˚ Fahrenheit.  Recipe makes 16-20 bars.

 

Ingredients

For the crust:

1 ½ cups of coconut flour

1 ½ sticks of butter, melted

1 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. sugar or granulated sweetener of choice

For the filling:

4 egg yolks, beaten

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 can coconut milk

1/2 bag of sweetened shredded coconut

 

Ok, you ready?  Here’s the doing-part.   Combine dry ingredients for the crust just enough to….well, combine.  Add the melted butter, and, working quickly, stir until mixture resembles a wet paste.  Add water if needed, a tsp. at a time, since coconut flour is wicked absorbent.  When you have achieved the desired consistency, press the dough into the bottom of your pan(with all the butter in the crust, greasing the pan is not necessary) to about an 1/8-1/4 inch thickness.  Bake for about 7 minutes, or until just a bit toasty around the edges.  Don’t let it bake too long, or it will dry out and grow in your mouth when you eat it like bran flakes. No bueno.

While that is baking, you can combine all of your ingredients for the filling.  When the crust is done, take it out, pour the filling in and stick it back in the oven.   This time, let it bake for about 20 minutes for larger pans, and 25-30 minutes for 8-11 or smaller.  Just keep an eye on it, you want the coconut flakes to be toasted when they stick out on top, but the inside still needs to be moist, and don’t let the crust go past golden in color.  That’s a bad day.  Ask me how I know… or better yet, ask my husband.  “Take this out in about 5 minutes, I gotta run.”  “Ok, babe…” Famous last words.

I hope you like ’em.  I started another blog for all of the other stuff I am interested in, and consider worth sharing with the world.  Come join me at The Not-So-Standard Issue Spouse.  We talk about all kinds of controversial stuff over there, so brace yourself.

As always, if you like this, come follow me on Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest, and please share with your friends and subscribe by email.  The brainwashing doesn’t work as well if you don’t follow me in all available social media sites.

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Coconut Custard Bars & Athena’s Guide to Being Resourceful When the Military Turns You Upside-down

  1. […] moved back into a house, but only for about a month.  Long story, will elaborate in my next post, Gluten-Free Coconut Custard Bars.  For now, we will talk about these ridiculously awesome PB bars.  I was originally gifted with […]

  2. Mary says:

    Seriously thought the picture was a pan of baked Mac ‘n Cheese. Can’t wait to try these. Any idea were I can find Coconut flour except Whole Foods? I will go there, but it is a bit of a drive.

    • athenahm says:

      Yeah, I miss my pans! You can find coconut flour in most grocery stores. The trick is the exact location. Some stores put it in a tiny little alternative baking section next to, or above the regular flours. Bob’s Red Mill is the brand that I typically see in non-specialty stores. It will be next to the flax meal, almond meal, and gluten-free flours… Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

A Goode One

Sometimes life defies description. But I'll try anyway.

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

