Google+

Easy Stovetop Lime Curd

8

April 27, 2013 by athenahm

I’m BAAAAAaack…

For those of you who do not know, I have been MIA from the blogging world for about a month and a half.  It’s been a rough month and a half.  I will spare you from all of the gory details, but if you keep up with me, you should know that I am now permanently in Washington state.  I have been here in the states for a little over a month from Turkey, taking care of a different family emergency and my husband and kids will be joining me here, near the end of May.  At that point, we will no longer be in the Air Force, and will, in fact, be integrating into civilian life.  In any case, all will be well, soon. And man, I am so happy to be getting back into a relatively normal routine, and more importantly, back to YOU GUYS.  My readers rock the casbah.  For serious.  And I love cooking and writing for this blog.

So during the majority of my exile from the interwebs, I have been staying with my grandmother in California.  This post and the one after it will be from that period.  My whole humongous family was staying in this single house for the period of around a week, so collectively, we were feeding a crowd slightly smaller than the French Foreign Legion.  We bought a LOT of food.  After all of these other people left, it was just my grandmother and myself.  And still sooooooo much food.  Especially citrus.  I love the taste of fresh citrus IN other things.  I am really not such a big fresh citrus as-a- solo act, kind of girl.   So we squeezed the shit out of the 5,000 oranges we had, and we drank some of it.  The rest of it, I made a custard out of, and I used a crappy recipe, so it turned out way too sweet, and I would not dare pass it on, because it sucked hardcore, and I love you guys too much for that. Anywhooooooo…..

Image

Easy Stovetop Lime Curd, AKA Summer Exploding in your Mouth.

Easy Stovetop Lime Curd

Makes about  10 servings.  Prep time: about 25 minutes.

Ingredients:

3-4 fresh limes

2/3 cups raw sugar(or equivalent  sweetener of your choice. Honey or maple sugar would be fine, just cut it down to about ½ a cup)

3 eggs, beaten

½ stick of butter

In a non-reactive saucepan, quickly whisk sugar and butter for approximately 1-2 minutes, or until creamed. Zest the limes, then juice them, adding both, the lime juice and the zest to the mixture, incorporate, and turn the burner to low.  Stirring constantly with the whisk, add the egg mixture ( which should be well-beaten, remember?).  Here is where you can get creative, if you wish.  You could add a pinch of nutmeg, or cinnamon (I would not do both, however) or a smidge of vanilla extract, or coconut extract or shavings, the possibilities are endless, really.  After you add your spices (or not, whatever, no judging), turn your heat up to medium-low, and stir until thick enough that a whisk dragged through it leaves a trail for a moment afterward, then remove from heat.  It will thicken more as it cools.  Enjoy on toast or scones, or use it as filling for a cake or a pie. Let me know in the comments what you did with yours!

I have another blog for all of the other stuff I am interested in, and consider worth sharing with the world.  Come join me at The Not-So-Standard Issue Spouse.  We talk about all kinds of controversial stuff over there, so brace yourself.

As always, if you like this, come follow me on FacebookTwitter, or Pinterest, and please share with your friends and subscribe by email.  I post a lot more on Facebook than I do, here.  Also, the brainwashing doesn’t work as well if you don’t follow me in all available social media sites.

 

8 thoughts on “Easy Stovetop Lime Curd

  1. Mary says:

    Ahahahah! I was in that household that required mass quantities of food! How long did the wraps make it?! By the way, missing that time in CA; especially the walking, the driving not so much.

  2. athenahm says:

    Oh, the driving, lol. You poor thing. The wraps lasted about a week, and we finally had to distribute some to the neighbors, lol. I loved those walks ❤

    • Mary says:

      Recently discovered it is not just driving. Took Emily on a Carousel at the zoo, got motion sickness so bad almost puked! Luckily the lady saw me and cut the ride short. UGH!

      • athenahm says:

        I almost tossed my funnel cakes on a tilt-a-whirl. I was, quite literally, green for 45 minutes afterward. My equilibrium changed after having kids 😦

  3. Joe Smith says:

    Kids will do that to you! By the way, I’m glad you’re back! Can you do an article on a good alfredo recipe that doesn’t taste like you’ve been chewing up a stick of butter?” PLEEEEEEEEEASE?

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    OMG I love this – LOVE it. I don’t know how to make this stuff, but I love love love lemon curd. I buy lemon meringue pies just to eat their insides out. True!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Learn Fun Facts

An Archive of Curious Facts for the Curious

Athena Holter-Mehren

Author & Artist

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Athena Speaks Computer

One student's journey from no0b to pro in 120 credit hours. Plus some.

Susan Brown Uncorked

All Things Wine

lolwutpolitics.wordpress.com/

Progressive politics, activism, slacktivism, commentary, shits & giggles from the political blogosphere. Also, cats.

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Der Bananenplanet

Alternatives Informationsmedium

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

Ma Cuisine et Vous

Quelques recettes juste pour vous

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Elizabeth Marro

Author, CASUALTIES, A NOVEL

Shawndra Miller

Giving voice to the world’s remaking

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Laughing at life as a parent so they don't commit me

Time Burrito

Home of the science fiction, comedy, horror author Aaron Frale

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Jules' Fuel

Fueling lifestyle wellness & purpose.

